real quick: small victories.

I have a friend who’s looking for a job, and I decided on a whim to check the internal job postings at my organization.  Look what I found at the end of the job description (emphasis mine):

(agency name) is committed to hiring and fostering a diverse and inclusive workforce that leverages the skills and talents of all employees in our organization, regardless of race, gender, national origin, age, religion, sexual orientation, size, physical ability or socioeconomic status. We encourage diverse candidates to apply for this position.

I’ve had my complaints about this particular organization’s HR policies in the past, but I was pleasantly surprised to see size included in the “ohay diversity, plz apply for this job if ur marginalized” section.  Not that my place of employment is particularly diverse – there’s a whole lotta tokenization of people of color happening in my department (I could write another post about that, but perhaps another day) and I’ve only seen a few other fatties in my time there… but still.  Pretty cool, huh?

May 13, 2011. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Twistie replied:

    A small step is still a step. We’ll take it, and then ask for more. You know, like seeing the policy followed sans tokenization.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

