So close!

So I was watching a marathon of America’s Next Top Model on Oxygen (don’t judge me), and I muted the commercials to watch a YouTube video or something.  I looked up at my television screen and saw happy fat people dancing on television omg.

I was simultaneously wary of anything on TV that shows fat people, because they’re rarely if ever shown in a positive light, and thinking “wait… they have heads!??  And they’re dancing!  And no one’s crying and I don’t see a doctor who looks like he might be talking about how Obesity Will Kill All Of Us… OMGWTF!”  I un-muted and, unfortunately, it was a commercial for Oxygen’s new show Dance Your Ass Off, a reality dancing competition show for people who want to lose weight.  However, maybe I’ll watch just to see fat people shakin’ it on television and change the channel when they talk about weight loss to save some Sanity Watchers points.

I want to see a TV show about fat people dancing that ISN’T about losing weight.  Hell, I’d probably want to be on such a show!  I love dancing.  The world needs more dancing fatties in my opinion.

Here’s a link to the video… embedding didn’t work for some reason.

May 24, 2009. Tags: . media, Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Lesley replied:

    I was likewise seriously bummed when I found out it had a weight-loss component (and worse, weigh-ins), but may watch just for the fat dancing. One of the many reasons I dig DVR.

    Also: I like what you’re doing here and have added your blog to the links list on fatshionista.com – I hope that’s okay!

  2. ampleproportions replied:

    Thanks! It looks like two different versions of my comment over there got posted because I wasn’t patient enough to wait for it to show up and assumed that it was Lost Forever when it didn’t show up instantaneously… oops. Feel free to delete the first one if you want. :)

  3. Lucy replied:

    Hey! I ran across a link to your site in the comments on a Fatshionista post. This is OT but I wanted to say, I’m a death-fat Oglala Lakota chick and I LOVE your blog!

    P.S. I was also watching the ANTM marathon on Sunday and it is nothing to be ashamed of. :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

